International vNOTES Training and Educational Content Committee

INTREC is an independent international coherent group of vNOTES educators.

The INTREC group focusses on evaluating and addressing the educational needs for vNOTES and safeguards the content standardization for vNOTES education. INTREC is an independent body that advises medical societies and industry partners about vNOTES education. 

INTREC inaugural meeting Fenixhof Belgium October 2023

INTREC Group Members

Prof Dr Jan Baekelandt, MD, PhD, is gynaecological oncologist at Imelda Hospital, Bonheiden, Belgium. He is a global vNOTES pioneer who introduced vNOTES in europe, developed and standardized many vNOTES operations, and is the international leading educator of vNOTES surgeons. He was first to perform transvaginal robotic surgery. He is an expert member of the iNOTESs for his expertise in vaginal NOTES procedures in gynaecology.

Dr Martine Wassen is gynaecologist in the Zuyderland Medical Center, the Netherlands.

She was first to introduce vNOTES in the Netherlands and is an expert is minimally invasive, vaginal and vNOTES surgery. She is vNOTES teaching faculty in the Netherlands and head of O&G residency program in the Zuyderland Medical Center. She is driven by innovation and development based on scientific research.

Prof Dr Tommaso Simoncini is Full Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the Department of Clinical and Experimental Medicine of the University of Pisa, Italy,  and Head of the OB/GYN Division.

He is a dedicated researcher with over 320 original papers published in high impact scientific journal.

He is past president, secretary and board member of many international societies, such as the European Menopause and Andropause Society, International Society of Gynecological Ednocrinology, European Society of Gynecology, Intenational Menopause Society, International Academy of Human Reproduction and Belgian Royal Medical Academy. He is a very experienced vaginal, vNOTES, robotic and laparoscopic surgeon.

Dr Grover May, MD, is an OBGYN expert in Minimally Invasive Surgery in Johnson City, Tennessee.  He is president of vNOTES USA and leading faculty for vNOTES training the USA.

Dr Aline Host is gynaecologist at University Hospitals of Strassbourg, France, where she specializes in vNOTES, pelvic and endometriosis surgery. She training faculty at Strassbourg endoscopic training center and leading vNOTES faculty in France.

Dr Jean Dubuisson is senior staff physician and head of the gynecological surgery unit at Geneva University Hospitals and senior lecturer at the University of Geneva, Switzerland. He is president of the Association Suisse Romande de Chirurgie Coelioscopique  and advisory board member of the European Society of Gynaecological Endoscopy. He is past member of the scientific board of the Swiss Foundation for Innovation and Training in Surgery.

He is an expert in minimally invasive surgery and lead faculty for vNOTES teaching in Switzerland.

Dr Med Julia Bockenheimer is gynaecologist in St Elisabeth Hospital in Köln, Germany.

She introduced vNOTES in Germany and is vNOTES teaching faculty for Germany.

Dr Patrice Crochet is gynecologic surgeon at CHU Rouen in France, where he specializes in minimally invasive, robotic and vNOTES surgery. He is leading vNOTES teaching faculty in France and has extensive expertise in research and assessment of surgical training.

Ass Prof Dr Andrea Stuart is head of department of gynecology at Helsingborg hospital, Sweden, and associate professor in obstetrics and gynecology at Lund University, Sweden.

She introduced vNOTES in Sweden and is leading vNOTES training faculty in Scandinavia.

Dr Ali Oudai is minimal access gynaecologist specialist in oncology and colposcopy in Surrey, London, UK. He is a royal college tutor who is passionate and very experienced in teaching, training and simulation. He specialises in providing evidence based care in gynaecology, colposcopy and oncology adopting innovations in minimal access surgery. He is leading faculty in the UK for vNOTES training. He is the lead for the innovation and research committee in the British Society of Gynaecological Endoscopy.